top of page

How To Handle A Loved One Who... Doesn't Quite Get What You Do

Spirituality and energy-work has been an incredibly meaningful aspect of my life. Reiki, meditation, EFT and other practices of that nature always reel me in rather than repel me. In retrospect I can appreciate how my mom encouraged me to explore and become educated in any aspect of spirituality that resonated with me. She has always greatly supported me, and is becoming seriously involved in energy-work herself! Many of my family, friends and sorority sisters have been incredibly encouraging as I further my personal development in this field - whether it is through discussion, feedback or even a positive snapchat, I feel constantly uplifted! ...So why do I feel so irritated that a particular friend of mine thinks my spirituality is silly?

This topic and this question have been buzzing around in my head and stirring up feelings of irritation. I allowed these feelings to temporarily build a divide between us. I felt resentful that she couldn't recognize just how much this path has helped me heal from a significant loss I endured a couple of years ago. I knew all these feelings were my ego crying out. These feelings reflected my fears. These feelings were not serving me - so there was only one solution on the horizon:

I surrendered. I let go of the expectations I imposed upon her. She isn't obligated to share in my spirituality. These practices don't appeal to her at this point in her journey. We have a rich friendship and share lots of similar interests - they just don't include meditiation, chakras or Angel cards. We both love travel, animals, and street festivals dedicated to anything deepfried. Clearly, we still share a lot of common ground.

My advice to anyone struggling to explain their spirituality to someone who opposes it: don't. This applies especially to those who are relatively fresh faces in this field and who are still finding their footing. There is a large group of spiritually-minded people in your community and online (I've especially enjoyed my time spent on Gabrielle Bernstein's Spirit Junkie Master Class Facebook group). Surround yourself with like-minded people and trust that they will hold that space for you while you grow and develop a meaningful relationship with yourself and the Universe. Your friend will still be there, as long as you are willing to meet them on their terms. Celebrate the differences between you and your loved ones just as often as you celebrate your similarities.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page