top of page

A Very Real Recap of Spirit Junkie Masterclass: What Worked Out & What I Wish I'd Have Known

I am endlessly grateful for the opportunity to attend this year's Spirit Junkie Masterclass hosted by Gabrielle Bernstein. If you're anything like me, maybe you've been feeling a little like this:

And if you've recently begun pursuing a career in the spiritual/coaching field, there's a good chance you've spent several sleepless nights stressing out over this:

At least I have. And after attending Gabby's Masterclass I'm glad to say that most of those re-curring stresses have disspiated. If I had to name the recurring theme of this weekend, it would be Don't Wait. Choose a medium that is the most fun for you, whether it's in-person classes, youtube videos, twitter, instagram... you get it. Take advantage of these popular platforms and share the lessons you are learning. As you cultivate your message, you will attract a community of big-hearted people who recognized themselves in your story. My biggest tip for anyone contemplating SJMC is this: Do not set yourself up for financial stress by registering before you have the means to pay. There are many bold attendees who registered, and trusted in the universe to provide the means for them to afford the class. I respect their courage, but I was very content with my decision to forego Gabby's 2014 Masterclass in order to save up for her 2015 Masterclass. Even when I felt financially confident to enroll, I should have better braced myself for that credit card bill...

(The CAD exchange on USD was a little brutal.)

What Can You Expect Upon Arrival? Super-healthy snacks, exciting swag bags that are graciously donated by SJMC sponsors, and be prepared to kick off your Friday night Q&A with a dance party.

I would encourage all attendees to take advantage of the private facebook group available to people who have registered for SJMC. Introduce yourself, get acquainted, and get excited for all these incredibly supportive spiritual running buddies that you have the honour of taking this journey with. Personally, I found tons of SJMC students on Instagram as well, and it quickly became my favourite way to connect with attendees. Unfortunately, due to the size of the group, you won't get a chance to meet everyone in person. I am of the firm belief, however, that you will bump into the people who you're supposed to meet. For me that was two people in particular: Anita and Sabrina Webb. I had a great time making the trip from Toronto to NYC with Anita and had a really pivotal moment with her on the Sunday as the Masterclass wrapped up. I was feeling disappointed that Gabby hadn't gotten around to answering my question (essentially: Is a business in this field better suited to a quiet area or a big city?), so I spent the last few minutes of the class non-stop, writing:

"Your question will be answered", repeatedly, I just felt compelled to keep on going. In retrospect, this felt like a pretty impractical statement seeing how the class was finished and it was time to head home. So, standing in the lobby, I explained my question to Anita and she had the answer to my question, and offered the perfect guidance to go along with it - "Bloom where you're planted". It was a perfectly timed moment that stood out to me that weekend and I am super grateful to have her as a friend. More Tips To Optimize Your Time At SJMC Eat well before you go and bring a filling snack just incase. The snacks that they provide are awesome but not enough to tide you over some of the longer portions - it's hard to focus with a rumbling belly.

Sleep well - get to bed at a reasonable time I swear because the SVA Theatre has comfy chairs, and you will be tempted to nap if you were up late the night before. Honestly, after leaving class each day, I couldn't imagine doing much more that having dinner and curling up in bed. To build upon this tip: don't overpack your schedule during this weekend. There was a lot I wanted to see and do in NYC so I extended my stay a few extra nights so that I could afford to spend a few nights in when I felt wonky and a little irritable.

A final tip for when you head home after Spirit Junkie Masterclass: be selective with who you choose to share your experience with. This is a sacred undertaking and there is no worse feeling than when a loved one shuts you down just as you're winding up to share about all the shifts you encountered during this training.

Share with people who encourage you. Share with people who will hold the space for you as you grow into your spiritual practice. This entire weekend is so chock-full of powerhouse women, from Gala Darling, to Rha Goddess, and of course the host herself, Gabrielle Bernstein and they are all there to share their experiences and lessons in hopes of helping you expand your spiritual horizons and build up your business. I guarentee you will leave each night, you'll head home, and you'll think to yourself:

I hope that this recap will help you decide if Spirit Junkie Masterclass is for you - I am happy to answer any questions you may have (and if you've already attended the Masterclass, I would love to hear about your personal experience!) Endless love Heather


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page